My Best Friend

We ran and danced in the rain
Together
We cooked and ate our grains
Together
We clapped and praised
Together
We laughed and cried
Together

Our very secret remained
Between us
Our dirty linens were washed
Within us
Our surroundings jealously
Watched us
Our  planned future purposely
Waved at us

Together they asked, is this us…?
Stunned, we starred at ourselves and said
Goodbye…!”

_Sams. Agbone

A good friend knows all your best stories, but a best friend has lived them with you…
In my darkest moment when I needed a shoulder to lean and shed those rain drops from my eyes on, she’s always there… oh, what an angel!

Her name is Lizzy. My best friend

I met him on a friend’s birthday bash and while I was hoping for a car to pick me up, he offered to take me to my destination. He opened the car door for me as I hoped in.He’s a smooth talker, a charmer, tall, dark and handsome, one that could sweep a girl off her feet. A perfect gentleman’s personality. He looked at me from his glasses and smiled. He asked me of my name, I told him and he drew closer and whispered into my ears that he liked me and would want to know me better. I shivered, thinking he wanted to bite off my ears, but on knowing he didn’t, I got goosebumps all over my body with my chest pumped up to give space to my heart so as to expand in order to prevent it from exploding. The ambience of the car was put in a cozy and reflective mood with a song by Adele, titled, “All I ask” from his stereo. Everything became still as I went in trance immediately and could feel the angels of love hugging me so calmly, while the speakers and AC from the vents whispered the song into my being. Eyes shut as I got synchronized with the realms of my vicinity… while in this state of mind, he tapped me for a reply to his question of wanting to know me better. Oh, gosh! What a short lived moment of bliss. I smiled and looked at him this time as I told him about myself. We got to my family house and I alighted as he proposed to see me again. We exchanged contacts and I left…

Times flew by and we sealed it off with a date, more dates, much dates and most dates… what an adventures of happy dates that ended in togetherness…

His name is Josh. A business guru

A week later I told my friend, Lizzy of all that happened after the birthday bash with Josh and she was happy with me that I was a lucky one as usual for him to have come for me. We laughed and toasted to my new found love. As we were celebrating, a guy knocked at her door and walked in and I got to know later on from Lizzy that he was her ex. I excused them and she promised to give me a call when she’s free. On my way home, I thought about what would bring her close to her ex again. We already discussed about him and how she told me he was a forgotten topic. Well, I waved it off pending when she’d tell me what was going on. At night of same day, I got a call from Lizzy that I shouldn’t be angry over what I saw earlier in her house. I told her no problem but that she’d have to explain what was going on. She asked me if she should accept him back and I advised her to follow what her heart felt for him. The guy had been a bully and yet she’s still loving him. Gosh! My friend was just a stubborn lover though. So we ended the call with gossips and laughter.

My name is Akama.

Years later, on this fateful day after giving birth to a baby girl, we were on a journey with my Josh to attend an occasion. Josh, a lover of Adele’s songs, lured me from my Bruno Mars fan into loving Adele’s. The journey was filled with flashbacks as songs from Adele and other good singers filled our hearts with joy. Immediately the song – “All I ask” by Adele started playing, Josh leaned forward to plant a kiss on my cheek as I shut my eyes reminiscing the day I met him once again…

“Madam, you will be fine. The baby is doing well too and everything is fine. Just relax! You’ve been here for some weeks and your friend (Lizzy) had been here expecting your conscious comeback.” Those were the words from a doctor that welcomed me back. I asked where Josh was and the look on Lizzy’s face gave me a nudge of incommodiousness… Josh was dead…! Tell me I was dreaming if you could! Hell got loosed and I went back in trance…

Years later, I moved on despite all that had been happening in my life. The business left by Josh was taken over by his family which I fought to regain back but… Well, I pursued my schooling, singing and dancing dreams and also raised my son alongside. Lizzy had been there through the years as my best friend. We had our life journey together. I’d travel to other states to pursue my singing career which now puts food on our table while my family helped me in taking care of my son. Life became like a very busy road for me.

Some months later, a man drove and blocked my car around the vicinity of my family house. He jumped out, begged me not to be upset that he came in peace just to ask me some questions. I was scared at first but his appearance made me calm and also since I’m within my vicinity. I cleared well from the road and asked him to talk. He then started, “Akama, how much do you want me to give to you so you could stop prostituting about? I am ready to take the bull by the horn today and wait for anything you’d do to me. I’ve been trying to see you for the past months and your friend keep telling me you’re not always around because you’ve been traveling round the country to meet with both single and married men and as a result, you even got a son for someone out of your escapades. To crown it all, she said I wasn’t your kind of man. Please are these true? I was stunned! I asked him the name of the friend he’s calling my friend and he said, LIZZY! I couldn’t believe it so I took him to my mum and asked him to repeat all he told me. My mum and siblings around couldn’t believe it. They asked the air, could LIZZY, your best friend do this to you?

23A36D9D-4F43-462F-8607-499B1EC5EA0A

…I’d take a bullet for you Lizzy, but I’m surprised you’re the one behind the trigger! I’ve heard that lovers have the right to betray, but not best friends! I thought we were best friends, but I was totally wrong! Right now, we’re strangers because I discovered you’d two faces. I’d rather prefer an enemy who slaps me in my face than a friend who stabs me in the back. This will hurt, but I’ll survive…! Goodbye Lizzy!

Remember this:
Betrayal don’t come from your enemies but friends and loved ones who want to have a little bit of the spotlight. You know what, forgive yourself for the blindness that let others betray you. Sometimes a good heart doesn’t see the bad. Just be careful what you tell people because the friend you have today could be your enemy tomorrow. Sometimes detachment from people is necessary in order to restore your sanity, mind and peace. You’re either a friend or a foe. Stop sitting on the fence so as not to get yourself confused!

Because you’re my best friend, I should laugh a little harder, cry a little less and smile a lot more.” _Sams. Agbone

Image Credit: timesofindian.indiatimes.com

Leave a comment