My Certified Humility

“Tossed by the wind
Passed through the fire
Drenched by the water
And approached by the earth

A state that seems weak
Yet the foundation of all virtues
Still a yardstick to remain standing
Because its wisdom is undeniable.”

_Sams.

 

“Don’t take my humility for stupidity…you have been pushing me to the wall for me to have reacted, but I ignored for peace to reign. My silence over your rantings are not signs of weakness but of peace. Everything was done for peace and because I was raised to know who I am. So when next you push me that hard to the wall and I bounce back, it means I am trying to teach you how to know who you should be. Just be nice because nothing in life is permanent. I just chose to be who I am.” _Unknown

“If you are humble, nothing will touch you, neither praise nor disgrace, because you know who you are.” _Mother Theresa

IMG_3199

Humility according to dictionary.com means the quality or condition of being humble; modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank, etc. Nelson Mandela puts humility to mean the ability to remain in the background and to put others in the front light. When we say someone’s humility is certified it means that the person’s humbleness has not only been tested but has been proven to be genuine and not the eye-service type. No matter your social status or how powerful you think you are, if you are not humble, then you’re just proud. Note that pride goes before a fall. You’re never too important to be nice to people. Just be nice. It doesn’t take a dime from you! Be humble outside and in your inner confidence. It pays to be humble because you learn better in a humble state regardless of how much you already know. Show me a humble one and I will show you where true wisdom lies… hmm, did I just say that? I guess you can relate with it.

“A humble person is more likely to be self-confident… a person with real humility knows how much they are loved.” _Cornelius Plantinga

IMG_3200

Most of us when we attain some heights in life, we tend to lose memory on those lessons of life we were taught at the beginning before the height attainment. We forget that the higher we’re placed, the more humbly we should walk. Any successful person who’s not humble has actually not reached complete success. I was made to understand that the first test of a great man is in his humility. Some of us complain of being treated wrongly just because we’re being humble. My question for you is, “Is your humility a certified type or that of the eye-service?” Check yourself very well and if not guilty, then it’s their mistake. If you want to be treated like you deserved, then be humble, expect nothing and appreciate everything. There’s no need to have it all. Just make the best of what you have. The reward for humility can’t be quantified.

“It is necessary to be humble in order to learn.” _Paulo Coelho

Remember this:
Don’t let people’s compliments get to your head, neither their criticisms to your heart. Just know this that no matter how big the house is… how huge the bank account is… how good looking the being is… and how recent that car is, the grave is still going to be the same size? Stay humble!

“The cost of not being humble is extremely expensive.” _Dale Partridge

 

Image Credit: http://maisondeslangues.univ-reunion.fr

Leave a Reply

