Amplified Impostor

“Can’t let you lean on me
Because you might fall
Can’t leave those things with me
Because you might not see them all
Can’t give those things to me
Because I might use it against y’all
You just don’t know my aim
Your worst nightmare…!”

_Sams

“…and they made me a laughing-stock, glorified in my shortcomings, mocked my flaws and held the truth from me… hmm, just when I gave them all. They promised the best of friendship, yet they failed. Although it hurts, but I can’t give another chance.” _Anonymous

According to dictionary.com, an Impostor is one who practices deception under an assumed character, identity or name. When this practice becomes a culture, we say it’s been amplified. In our world today, most people or things don’t really appear the way they look after encountering with them and this tend to hamper trust. An impostor is simply put, a deceiver! Such practice is done with the intention of hurting others except seen otherwise.

Deception may give us what we want for the present, but it will always take it away in the end.” _Rachel Hawthorne

IMG_3115

I remembered a scenario when I was driving and was asked by some uniformed men to pull over for a search. Just like others, I obeyed and while one of them was asking me questions, I heard sirens behind me and the uniformed men (impostors) quickly ran into the bush leaving me and others perplexed. We asked ourselves what could have prompted their dismissals but on seeing the other uniformed men, we felt relieved as they quickly handled the situation and asked us questions. Then they said we were lucky they were passing same route and that was what chased the impostors away. We thanked them and then left along. Actually, appearance can be really deceptive. One has to be really careful with strangers and those we call ‘friends’ and atimes with the close ones.  Trust is a costly thing, therefore, always be on guard.

“Regret is a waste of time. If anyone is good to you, it’s a wonderful experience and if bad, it’s just an experience.” _Sams.

IMG_3111

A single lie discovered is enough to create doubt in every truth expressed. When we tend to put on sheep’s clothing to get what we want, we are sowing deceit to reap distrust. No one would like to be toyed with in life. Just be you so they can accept or reject your YOU. Imagine someone stabbing you in your back and asking why you’re bleeding. Hmm, I just know that an open enemy is better than such a one. Don’t trust what you see. Even salt looks like sugar. People of integrity don’t hide their reactions or opinions. They don’t manipulate others through any form of deception and don’t pretend. Some people are just not loyal to you. They’re loyal to their need of you. Once their needs change, so does their loyalty.

Remember this:
Some of the most poisonous people normally come disguised as friends and family. Life isn’t about the people who act true to your face but of those who remain true behind your back! Be careful who you trust. The devil was once an angel. Don’t be deceived!

“Putting people down doesn’t make you a strong and powerful person, but rather makes you a bully, a coward and eventually alone in life.” _Tess Calomino

Image Credit: greaton.com

One Reply to “Amplified Impostor”

Leave a Reply

