Censorious Betrayal

“I could fly on your wings
So far that I could see
I presume your willingness
Twinkling things I feel
In wonder I ponder
Just as the mask reveals
A cut so deep, I shiver
I pray it heals”

_Sams.

“A Reflection on how I was betrayed, pricked my heart. The kind of experience that changed my mentality on good morality. I thought life was a path of ‘be your brother’s keeper’. Life wasn’t as I expected. Yes, I was hit below the belt by people I trusted which brought out the “me” I never craved for. I was duped of all I had saved despite mouthwatering promises, was bruised/neglected by those that should have loved me and got juicy promises that turned sour after tasting. I got tired of trusting knowing fully well of prowling traitors. I tend to treat others the right way I could, but got the opposite in return. I wished for death and yearned for the worst in that moment of swaying thoughts. I expected nothing more from anyone but to betray. I was totally engulfed in self-trust. Yes, you heard me right; call it selfishness if you wished. I was jilted! Enough of all of these! Once bitten, twice shy!!” _Anonymous.

img_2992

Did you think the above statement was a blab? I guess you were actually nodding your head saying to yourself…hmm, hmm, yeah and all you could express to statements of such kind! Not too worry, let’s rub minds together on this issue and I would tell you what I was actually nodding my head to!

According to wikipedia.org, betrayal is the breakdown or violation of a presumptive contract, trust, or confidence by that produces moral and psychological conflict within a relationship amongst individuals, between organizations or between individuals and organizations. Every betrayal begins with trust. Yes, Trust!

img_2987

Everyone faces betrayal at some point in life. No matter how much the person apologizes, you can’t manage to tap into your inner reservoir of forgiveness. To ease your pain, you seek retribution, if not revenge. I simply put this as “breach of trust” because you must have entrusted something to someone for there to be a breach. But must we betray? Can’t we just understand that ‘Trust is like a paper and once it’s crumpled, it can’t be rectified again? I do not have to force this idea into your throat, but to call a spade, a spade, let’s reason further on this!

According to Monica A. Frank, Ph.D, “betrayal involves the act of someone violating your trust in them.” Betrayal is a destructive force that leaves many ruins in its path. Betrayal changes everything. Relationships and all those affected will never be the same again. The damage done can be irreparable. Trust is lost. Wounds run deep. Anger persists. Hearts are broken. Self-protective walls are erected. Pain is long and lasting. And we wonder… Can trust ever be restored? Do wounds ever heal? Will anger cease to exist? Can hearts be repaired? Will the self-protective walls ever come down? Does the pain ever go away? More and more questions pouring in…!

This was what I was actually nodding my head to at the cradle of this issue:
The pain of betrayal is very real and has a significant impact on the lives of all those who have experienced it. It is one of those painful life experiences that have the power to change people’s hearts and lives forever. If you have ever been betrayed, you cannot change what has happened to you or make the pain go away. You need time to grieve and feel angry. You need time to be comforted and encouraged. You also need time to restore your faith in yourself and others.

Betrayal hurts and there is no fast and easy way to heal from its effects. It takes more than time. It takes a heart that will not harden. It takes a commitment to believe in others again. Relationships do change as a result of betrayal; but ultimately, how it changes you is what matters most.

img_2986

Remember this:
Be careful who you tell your problems. Not everyone that smiles at you is your friend!
The saddest thing about betrayal is that it never comes from your enemies.
Each pain makes you stronger, each betrayal more intelligent, Every disappointment more skillful and each experience makes you wiser!

Live wisely!!

Picture credit: good morning quote; Pinterest and Emily’squotes.com

9 Replies to “Censorious Betrayal”

Leave a Reply

