My Addiction Unraveled

“Ferocious craving
enjoying everything even in torment
You never knew I concurred
All I did was consciously unplanned
Yet I never wanted it known
Neither publicly blown

And if you…, well it is, then
My Addiction unraveled!!”
                                                 _Sams.

“I feel I need something of a temporary state to make me permanently happy. I tend to get glued to things that threaten my existence for consolation. I never knew what I was getting into until I started living in trance. I unarguably became a monster created by my own indulgence in my little island of glory. I never saw anything better than what I was involved in because my world was already engulfed with my self gratifying practices that gave me fluctuating pleasures.
I enjoyed every bit of it and a day without my practice is tagged AWKWARDLY BLURRY”_Anonymous

When I first came across the above statement in a post online, I was gripped with awe for the aftermath of that individual even though the explanation was just an excerpt. A lot of us live in such kind of life in secret because we don’t want to be castigated and tagged as a “waste”. But we can be vindicated when we remember that the life we have is precious. If you don’t care about it, then let not your creator’s work be in vain.

“Life is a series of addiction and without them we die” _Prof. Isaac Mark

img_2980

According to psychologytoday.com, addiction is a condition when a person ingests a substance or engages in an activity that can be pleasurable but the continuation of which becomes impulsive and interferes with ordinary responsibilities and concerns such as works, relationships or health. This could result to problems to those involved and others close to them. Doing something habitually or excessively does not necessarily make it problematic. While there are many behaviours such as drinking too much caffeine or watching too much television that could theoretically be described as addictive behaviours, they are more likely to be habitual behaviours that are important in an individual’s life but actually cause little or no problems. As such, these behaviours should not be described as an addiction unless the behaviour causes significant psychological and/or physiological effects in their day-to-day lives.

Just as Mark D. observed “A healthy excessive enthusiasm adds to life whereas an addiction takes away from it.” I also believe that to be classed as an addiction, any such behaviour should comprise a number of key components including overriding preoccupation with the behaviour, conflict with other activities and relationships, withdrawal symptoms when unable to engage in the activity, an increase in the behaviour over time (tolerance) and use of the behaviour to alter mood state.

img_2983

Hold on and check! A lot has been said on the internet about negative addiction, causes and it’s consequences, yet some of us still feel they owe no one explanation on how they destroy their lives. Yes, you might be right in your decision, but for unraveling it and getting us involved indirectly, we shall speak! Did I hear you say “it’s my life, so I can do whatever I want?” Well, I don’t want you to come back saying please help! A stitch in time saves nine! Get that pretty life of yours back on track. Stop that addiction that’s taking life out of you. Yes, you can! Hear Maria Robinson out “nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” Start deciding now, before it’s too late.

“There is no life to be found in violence. Every act of violence brings us closer to death. Whether it’s the mundane violence we do to our bodies by overeating toxic food or drink or the extreme violence of child abuse, domestic warfare, life-threatening poverty, addiction, or state terrorism.” _bell hooks

 Photo credit: The Tribe – Therapy Tribe & recoverysteps.com 

5 Replies to “My Addiction Unraveled”

Leave a Reply

