I’m A Survivor

I’m A Survivor

“Wandering through the storm
With deafness and in lames
Despite in the rain
In disbelief, tears flow in plains

I’m a survivor

Destinations unclear
Valleys of dark shadows abound
I wander, I ponder
All through it all in doubt island

I’m a survivor

                                       _Sams.

“If you’d asked, I might not be able to find words at this moment to express my innermost feelings of atheism and nostalgia. I have been through it all from the bosom of splendor to the bosom of insignificance. Feeling the scorching utterance from the unexpected and being vulnerable at same time could be the worst of them all. I wept! No! I lamented in a state of visibility and invisibility because those states became my succor. I see everything disappearing into thin air right before my eyes. Love sliding into hate and hate becoming my culture. You dare not tell me why I should love! I feel the love I know of doesn’t really exist. I surrendered to hate and became a slave of retribution. But you know what? I finally made it through. I’m a survivor.”

Those were the words of a friend about her perilous throw-back life.

img_2968

According to the Cambridge Dictionary, a Survivor is a person who is able to continue living his life successfully despite experiencing difficulties. Emelita puts it thus; “A person who defies the odds against all odds and living to tell the tale.” And Scott says “it means ‘I won’!!”
Irrespective of what life has thrown to you, we all can’t have same story line. There’s always a little difference to make that life story yours.

There are lots of survivor stories in our world of today, but let’s look at just these two to further explain the topic, thus;

A friend once narrated his ordeal how he lost his parents at a very tender age and was taken to live with his uncle. While there, he was treated like a pin in their necks. He became the new housemaid that did all manners of chores and always sleeping late to wake up very early and if he defaults in any of his acclaimed responsibilities, he should be ready to work harder than usual. He passed through all manners of ill-treatment that almost resulted in suicidal attempts. He endured through all of that and today, he’s at his comfort zone. A survivor!

Another friend narrated how she lost it all and thought that’s how life was. She was raped by someone she referred to as a family member, molested by her step dad severally and despite reporting to her sister, she was given deaf ears of doubts. She became vulnerable. Due to her resistance of ill treatments from the step dad, he had to chase her out of the house for a fate so fragile. Despite all that life threw at her on the street, she didn’t give up and today, her testimony is awesome! A survivor!

“Don’t judge yourself by what others did to you.” _C. Kennedy

As the saying goes – life isn’t a bed of roses neither it is the bed of thorns. A person is him or herself responsible for making his or her life either the bed of roses or the bed of thorns. Happy and sad moments are the part of life. If sad moments are not faced, one can never realize the worth of the happy moments. Adversity is that great part of life which leads you towards the successful future. Adversity makes you stronger. They are like washing machines, they twist, turn and knock us around but in the end we come out cleaner, brighter and better than before.

Remember this:
After the dusk comes dawn. Never lose the hope as we say tomorrow never dies and always remember beautiful pictures are always developed from the negatives in the dark room.

“Dear past, I survived you. Dear present, I’m ready for you. Dear future, l’m coming for you.” _Matshona Dhilwayo

img_2969

Leave a Reply

